RSS

Theology – The Doctrine of God-Part 4

25 Jan

IV. The Names of God – Here are some of the major names of God found in the Bible:

God in the Clouds

God in the Clouds (Photo credit: Jeff Pang)

A. JehovahMeaning, “The Self-Existent One” “And God [Jehovah] said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” (Exodus 3:14) God exists by Himself. He does not need His creation to satisfy Himself. This holy name of Jehovah was not uttered by Jews. They would bathe their bodies and change their clothes before they would write this name on Holy Script. The word “Jehovah” is used four times in the King James Bible (“And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them.” Exodus 6:3; “That men may know that thou, whose name alone is JEHOVAH, art the most high over all the earth.” Psalm 83:18; “Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.” Isaiah 12:2; and “Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength:” Isaiah 26:4).

B. Adonai – Meaning, “My Lord and my Master.” “Ye call me Master and Lord [Adonai]: and ye say well; for so I am.” John 13:13)

C. Elohim – Meaning, “The strong One” or “the One to be feared.” “In the beginning God [Elohim] created the heaven and the earth.” (Genesis 1:1)

D. El-Shaddai – Meaning, “The All-sufficient One.” “And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the Lord [El-Shaddai] appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect.” (Genesis 17:1) This is the One who can satisfy all. Beside God, man needs nothing to fulfill him.

E. El-ElyonMeaning, “the Most High God.” “For thou hast said in thine heart, I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God [El-Elyon]: I will sit upon the mount of the congregation, in the sides of the north: I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will be like the most High.” (Isaiah 14:13-14)

F. Theos – Meaning, “God.” “Take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers, to feed the church of God [Theos], which he hath purchased with his own blood.” (Acts 20:28)

G. Kurious – Meaning, “Lord.” “And Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God [Kurious].” (John 20:28)

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane),...

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane), oil painting by Heinrich Ferdinand Hofmann (Heinrich Hofmann). The original is at the Riverside Church (Riverside Church, New York City). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

H. Pater – Meaning, “Father.” “And he said unto them, When ye pray, say, Our Father [Pater] which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth.” (Luke 11:2)

I. Emmanuel – Meaning, “God with us.” “Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.” (Matthew 1:23)

Other Hebrew Names of God:

El – The Strong One

Elah – The Adorable One

El-Roi – The Lord that sees me

El-Elohe-Israel – The God of Jacob

El-Olam – God of Eternity

Jah – The Independent One

Jehovah-Elohim – The Majestic, Omnipotent God

Jehovah-Hoseenu – The Lord our Maker

Jehovah-Jireh – The Lord will provide

Jehovah-Rophi – The Lord our Physician

Jehovah-Nissi – The Lord our Banner

Jehovah-M’Kaddesh – The Lord doth sanctify

Jehovah-Eloheenu – Lour our God

Jehovah-Eloheka – Lord thy God

Jehovah-Elohay – Lord my God

Jehovah-Shalom – The Lord our Peace

Jehovah-Tsebaoth – The Lord of Hosts

Jehovah-Rohi – The Lord my Shepherd

Jehovah-Tsidkenu – The Lord our Righteousness

Jehovah-Makkeh – The Lord that smites

Jehovah-Gmolah – The God of recompense

Jehovah-Shammah – The Lord is There

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2013 in Eschatology

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Theology – The Doctrine of God-Part 4

  1. Anna Popescu

    January 27, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    Anna, another great post! By the way, I’ve nominated you for the “Blog of the Year 2012″ award. Here are the details: http://faithlovejoyhope.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/excited-thankful-humbled-by-awards/

     
  2. Desiray

    January 26, 2013 at 7:01 am

    I simply love all the names of God because each one means something, Every person who has had an encounter with God there was a name for it. I myself have found myself having names for God and I just love it. AMEN

     
    • Anna

      January 26, 2013 at 8:55 am

      It is very revealing of God’s character to know the Biblical meanings of His names in His Word. This study has been one that has indeed helped me to “know Him more.” Thanks, Desiray, for your input. :-)

       
      • Desiray

        January 26, 2013 at 9:46 am

        You are more than welcome…

         

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

