RSS

Becoming A Godly Woman

31 Mar
Dove of the Holy Spirit (ca. 1660, alabaster, ...

Dove of the Holy Spirit (ca. 1660, alabaster, Throne of St. Peter, St. Peter’s Basilica, Vatican) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Over the past year, God has placed a strong desire in my heart to become a more Godly woman. I know that I have definitely grown in my walk, just not as much as I could have. I have stopped listening to Satan’s lies that because of my past I am not good enough. I have made the decision to no longer allow guilt to hold me back from being the kind of woman that God has always intended for me to be.

I have come to learn that the biggest hindrance to my growth in the Lord has been my need for control. Since I have made the choice to endeavor to place my life under God’s complete control, I have felt an overwhelming joy and peace. I mean, did I ever really have control in the first place? The only control I had was to say no to God’s control. Will I have times of doubt, most assuredly. But, I know where I can go to receive immediate confidence.

I think about what being Godly means — to be like God, to think, speak and behave like Him. The greatest compliment we can receive is when others see us as Godly. They can see God in us, and this brings glory to our heavenly Father. Am I saying that to be Godly is to be perfect? No, of course not, that is impossible while we are in our human forms. I am saying that we can all do our best to be ‘like’ God. This does present us with quite a challenge, but it is achievable.

With that said, I have asked the Holy Spirit where to go in God’s word to find the direction I need. I believe He has led me to start in Titus Chapter 2. I will attempt to take this inspiring Scripture a step at a time beginning with verse 3.

“The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things;”

Okay, aged, meaning old. While I believe it is including elderly women, it is also making reference to “mature” women. Yes, that sounds much better to me. Since I am well under the age of 60, I think it is speaking of those of us who have raised our children, but we are not ready for the rocking chair yet.

Our behavior is to be such that becomes holiness. I would put it this way – we are to live in a way that honors God. We are to set an example by living reverently for God – respecting Him and His rules – basically just doing what is right.

There are many young women watching how we older women deal with the challenges that life throws our way. We can either be a Godly example and show them that it is God’s hand on our shoulders that gets us through, or we can be a worldly, selfish example and see them turn their backs on the Christian life.

It is heart-wrenching to watch women today as they struggle to just do their best without God’s direction, and therefore, miss out on His blessings. Along with that comes regret. It does not have to be that way.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in Godly Women

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Becoming A Godly Woman

  1. praymillennials

    October 29, 2015 at 11:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Praying for the millennials.

     
    • Anna

      October 30, 2015 at 6:02 pm

      Nice to see you here. Thanks for the reblog!

       

Leave a Reply

 
