RSS

Trust and Obey

20 Apr

Rose Mary Magdalene バラ メアリーマグダリン

When we are faced with the heartache of feeling insignificant and of little value in this world, we must remember that God values each and every one of us. He “knew us in our mothers’ wombs,” and “the hairs on our heads are numbered.” We are reminded of our value to Him repeatedly in His word. The value of our very souls is such that He sent His only Son to take our punishment on the cross. No greater love is there in this world.

I was led to some of His comforting Scripture recently during a time of great testing and evil attacks as result of trying to “Trust and Obey.” Many fleshly thoughts did come to mind to distract me from trusting and obeying, especially during a lesson to learn to love unconditionally, as God loves me. The only weapon I found sufficient to combat the evil, fleshly self was found in God’s loving word.

Psalm 40:1-5, 16,17 “I waited patiently for the LORD; (during times of fleshly consumption, patience alluded me; forgive me LORD) and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD. Blessed is that man that maketh the LORD his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies. Many, O LORD my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered…Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: let such as love thy salvation say continually, The LORD be magnified. But I am poor and needy; yet the LORD thinketh upon me: thou art my help and my deliverer; make no tarrying, O my God.”

Those of us with a colorful past may at times feel discouragement or intimidation when we feel looked down on, or not “good enough” by those who give the impression, “thank God, I never committed those kinds of sins.” I am reminded of Mary Magdalene and that “He who is forgiven much, loveth much.” Experience over the years has proved this to be true in many instances.

In spite of that, it is my desire to fashion my own thinking after Mary’s example. Hers is a heartwarming representation of an attitude of gratitude. She was miraculously liberated from a horrific life of sin by Jesus when he cast seven demons from her. We know that she had quite a colorful past, but every account we have of her from God’s word, after salvation, shows us that she chose to live her new life in thankful appreciation for Christ’s deliverance of her soul. Her faith was not complicated, but straightforward and sincere.

It is my desire to try and implement what God is teaching me through my trials, and to be like Mary: “More eager to believe and obey than to try to understand everything. Jesus honored her childlike faith by appearing to her first and by entrusting her with the first message of His resurrection.” Thank you, LORD, for teaching me that it is more important to care what you think of me than to be wounded by what some in this world may think of me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in God's Love, Godly Women

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
