RSS

I’ll See You in Paradise Sweet Mommy

28 Jun

Momma when I left
Ready to go home from Rehab

Mom’s Memorial Picture

I would like this entry to serve as my Memorial to my Sweet Mommy. I have added more pictures below.

My Momma had surgery on April 18th to remove a spot from her pancreas, and repair her esophagus. They ended up taking her spleen as well, but it was all done Laparoscopic. She came through and was doing well, until the third night after surgery. I will not go into details of all the complications that arose because of healthcare provider incompetence. God will take care of that. She went on the ventilator and into ICU for a few weeks, then rehab for a few weeks and went home. Two weeks later she was back in the hospital, then ICU again and back on a ventilator. Over the course of three days, she became unresponsive and filled with fluid. We seven siblings were faced with a horrible decision, but respected her wishes and agreed to let her go be with Jesus this past Sunday evening, June 24. We sang her favorite hymns to help ease her journey. She was in God’s presence 30 minutes later.

I will be ever grateful for the month that I had to be a part of this with her and two of my little sisters, and brother-in-law. Momma lived with sister Susie and her husband James. I do not live near them, so I am very blessed to have had this precious time with them.

There is a memorial service this evening in Farmington for the many friends she had there, and those who are not able to make it to Arkansas next week. Our father was from Arkansas, and it was Momma’s wish to be laid to rest next to him, naturally. We know that she is no longer in that earthly body anyway. I like to imagine her doing the two-step with Daddy up there in Paradise and joining him in praise and worship, thanking our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ for His sacrifice so they can be there. I can hardly wait to be there myself and see the mansion they are building for me. 😉

In the mean time, I keep hearing God whisper, “I have a plan; trust me.” I am finding that the only way for me to get through this, to be molded into His image and accomplish His purpose is to stay in His Word, communing with Him constantly. When I neglect Him, I am worthless and no one should be near me.

Psalms 23

1   The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2   He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.
3   He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
4   Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.
5   Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.
6   Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

Mom and Dad’s Wedding Pic
July 1, 1954

“Baby Momma with Her Daddy in Aspen”

“The Picture Daddy Carried with Him in the Navy”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2012 in Godly Women

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I’ll See You in Paradise Sweet Mommy

  1. wordwulf

    June 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Hi Anna,

    I appreciate you taking time to read & comment on my blog. Great pictures here, a wonderful story.
    Take care,
    Tom {WordWulf} Sterner

     
  2. timethief

    June 29, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    I dropped in to see how you made out with this post – well done. This is a lovely tribute to your mom.

     

Leave a Reply

 
