RSS

How to Endure Suffering

18 Jul

I recently decided to approach my daily Bible reading with a plan I found on the Blue Letter Bible website based on the chronological order of God’s Word. I am now reading in Job (yes, more of God’s perfect timing, right?)  🙂 which is the next order of events after Noah and the flood. In my study Bible, in the Book of Job is a chart on what the Bible says about “How to Endure Suffering.” I have learned that the best way I am able to apply what I read to my life is to write about it or share it with others. If this study may help someone else along the way, Glory to God for that. I know that it is indeed growing me in this temporal journey on this earth.

There is a list on the left side of the chart of the wrong ways to endure suffering. I told my husband that, “Gee whiz, I believe I have done every one of those wrong things on that list. Now, I wish to learn God’s right ways of getting through this season of my life. I will study the list on the right side of this chart from God’s Holy Word.”

No. 1 Wrong Way – Demand to know WHY. Boy, when my mother was in the hospital fighting her battle to stay alive, I lost count of how many times I asked God why He would allow this sweet Child of God to endure such suffering. Then when she died, I asked why all her fighting seemed for nothing. Although I believe that it is natural for us in our human flesh to ask why when we witness suffering or when we go through it ourselves, it did not comfort me, nor did it give me the answers I longed for.

I have gotten to the point where I no longer care why any of it happened. I know that Heaven looks much sweeter to me now. 🙂 Another thought that comes to my mind is, “Why not? Must I only accept the good in life and not the bad?”

One of God’s suggested right ways to endure suffering is found in Romans 8:28-30: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.”

Now that I am past asking God why, I take much comfort in being content to know WHO is in charge. How it blesses my soul to know that God “foreknew” me and called me to be His child. Since I chose to answer His call and receive Him as my Lord and Saviour and to be justified by His Son, I will one day be glorified with Him. I can be content in the fact that, yes, I will go through trials on this earth, but look WHO has me in His hand and is preparing me for the future glorification in Heaven with Him and my saved loved ones.

When I saw this Scripture on the right side of that chart as the Right Way, I understood why God had brought this very word to me in the midst of the pain, but I did not let it sink in at that time.

Next time: wrong way: Withdraw from God

May - King James Version of the Bible.

May – King James Version of the Bible. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 18, 2012 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “How to Endure Suffering

Leave a Reply

 
