RSS

How to Endure Suffering No. 2

21 Jul

English: Calvary in Kcynia Polski: Krużganek, ...

Wrong Way No. 2 – Withdraw from God

It has been a pattern with me in the past to turn away from God when faced with crises in my life. Some times it was because I listened to the lies from the devil that I am no longer worthy to serve God. When I went through my divorce, I went away from the Lord one step at a time. I stopped serving in the church choir, then I stopped helping with the youth group, and I gave up teaching the precious 2nd grade Sunday School class. I eventually left the church, and I regret to admit that I came to a point where I could not pick up His Word and read it nor bow to Him in prayer.

Well, I have come to learn that none of us is worthy except by the work Jesus did at Calvary. I gradually followed Jesus’ sweet promptings back to His loving, gracious arms. I now understand that it is not He who turns away from me when I cannot feel His presence, but me who has turned away from Him. My prayer is, “Lord, please let me never go away from you again, no matter what happens.”

At other times, my turning away has been by crawling into a liquor bottle to numb and self-medicate from anger and pain of past wounds, while questioning, “God, how could you allow this woundedness from others?” He has taught me that I must trust Him without question. I am understanding more with each trial that it is all a part of the bigger picture. This life is just preparing me for my life with Him in eternity. It is up to me if I stay the course and keep my heart focused on Jesus, or if I choose to believe evil’s lies and go the way of the world. I have cried tears of repentance for the time that has been lost while going my own way, instead of living for Him. I can never get those precious days back, but my vow is to never lose any more.

I just finished reading Job. God never revealed to Job His reasons for allowing the horrendous losses and heartache he experienced. It was revealed to me during this reading that God reminded Job of all that He had created because He was saying to him, and would say to each of us, “You believe that I am God and that I have power to accomplish all these things. Why do you not trust me with every aspect of your life?” If God is allowing some trial or challenge in my life, He promises that He will lead me through it. God cannot lie, so I am learning to just trust Him in ALL things. Is it difficult to remember this in the midst of the trials? Yes, but that is why I must stay in His Word and commune with Him daily. I am experiencing recall of His promises that I have read, and I find that the Scriptures He brings to my mind fend off evil attacks.

Suggested Right Way to Endure Suffering-from God’s Word:

Acknowledge that He is with you, Hebrews 13:5 “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” WHAT A COMFORT THOSE WORDS ARE! He said them and He cannot lie.

Pray all the more, 1 Peter 5:6, 7 “Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

Next Wrong Way – Withdraw from Others

Related articles

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 21, 2012 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
