RSS

Imagining the Rapture of the Saved

10 Oct

Some years ago I was inspired to write a little story about the Rapture of God’s Church. Over the years, I have re-written it for different occasions. This past spring, I put together the Ladies Retreat Booklet for our church, and each of us leaders added our own writing to it. I reworked my “Imagining the Rapture” writing for this purpose. I was recently cleaning up some junk on my computer and came across this, and I thought I would share it for fun.

First I would like to explain why we Christians call being “caught up in the air with Jesus” our Rapture. Some like to point out that you won’t find the word “rapture” in the Bible. But that depends on what kind of Bible you have. If you have a Latin translation, then you have the word rapturous. And the word rapturous comes from the Greek word harpazō, which is mentioned 13 times in the New Testament. In 1 Thessalonians 4, the term, “caught up” is used. It is translated from that Greek word harpazō, which means to take forcibly, to snatch, or to catch up. And that is what the Rapture will be.

“Imagining the Rapture”

God’s Word says (1 Cor. 15:52) that it will happen “in the twinkling of an eye.” All true believers alive at that time will instantly transform and transport to Heaven! They say that a twinkle is faster than a sparkle, but who knows how fast a sparkle is? Will I have time to giggle at the tickle in my stomach? Will I feel a whoosh of air on my skin as I fly heavenward? Maybe my cheeks will be kissed by dew as I pass through the clouds. Perhaps a twinkle is too quick to feel anything, but what fun it is to ponder.

Chances are, I will not give thought when my earthly clothes drop off my body, nor hear my jewelry jingle to the floor. Shamefully, I cannot help but wonder at the idea of those left behind wearing my jewelry and touching my stuff. Of course, I will not care about that as I travel homeward, will I.

Will I be able to control (or will I even want to) the flood of joyful tears streaming down my face, when I look into the eyes of my Jesus for the first time? I am overwhelmed at the expectation of delight when I am united with loved ones who died so long ago that I have forgotten what they looked like. And, oh, the ecstasy of seeing results of His seeds that I helped plant or water, but never knew the outcome in this life.

Although it is difficult to imagine what I might feel during The Rapture, I find it a most joyous pastime. I dread the possibility that I may die before this blessed event occurs. It is my heart’s desire to zip-line to Heaven in a twinkling of an eye when I leave this world.

I Thessalonians 4:17, 18 – “Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord. Wherefore comfort one another with these words.”

rapture

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2012 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Imagining the Rapture of the Saved

  1. Anna Popescu

    October 10, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Loved this, Anna! I have often daydreamed of how the rapture would unfold, and I can’t wait!

     
    • Anna

      October 10, 2012 at 12:53 pm

      Thank you. You can tell how much I am looking forward to it, can’t you. I truly believe it is at the very door. ;-0

       
  2. Lyn Leahz

    October 10, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Very informative and thought provoking post, Anna. Also, I would like to thank you for the link. God bless you!

     
    • Anna

      October 10, 2012 at 7:58 am

      You are welcome, and God bless you dear sister!

       

Leave a Reply

 
