RSS

Theology – The Doctrine of God Part-2

13 Jan

II.The Natural Attributes of GodAttributes are the qualities or characteristics of a person or thing. Let us look at God’s natural attributes.

3rd quarter of 16th century

A. Transcendent – God is transcendent to both time and place. By this we mean He is above His creation. “For thus saith the high and lofty One that inhabiteth eternity, whose name is Holy; I dwell in the high and holy place, with him also that is of a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite one.” (Isaiah 57:15) Today, many ‘Christians‘ tend to bring God down to their level, when it would be more benefit to keep Him high and lifted up as He deserves.

“And no man hath ascended up to heaven, but he that came down from heaven, even the Son of man which is in heaven.” (John 3:13) Jesus was in both places at the same time! Wow! Now that is deep!

B. ImmanenceImmanence means that God is within His creation. (Again see Isaiah 57:15) and “One God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all.” (Ephesians 4:6) God is not only above and all around His creation, He is in His creation, especially dwelling within them who are believers in His Son. Therefore, nothing can be hidden from Him.

C. Eternal – God has no beginning nor ending. There is no past, present nor future with God. Only eternal present. He is not limited by time. “Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever thou hadst formed the earth and the world, even from everlasting to everlasting, thou art God.” (Psalm 90:2)

D. Infinite – God has no limitation in space. All of His attributes are without limit. He cannot be limited, as seen in the following verses: “But will God indeed dwell on the earth? behold, the heaven and heaven of heavens cannot contain thee; how much less this house that I have builded?” (1 Kings 8:27)

“Great is our Lord and of great power: his understanding is infinite.” (Psalm 147:5)

“Can any hide himself in secret places that I shall not see him? saith the Lord. Do not I fill heaven and earth? saith the Lord.” (Jeremiah 23:24)

E. Immutable – God is unchangeable, invariable, and permanent. He is not capable of, nor susceptible to change. “For I am the Lord, I change not;” (Malachi 3:6)

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” (James 1:17)

Sometimes, God changes in His judgments and decisions towards an individual or nation, based on their behavior – “And it repented the LORD that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him at his heart.” (Genesis 6:6) But God never changes in His character. For instance, God will always be holy. He will never become unholy for ANYONE.

F. Omniscient – God is all knowing. He knows the future as well as the past. He knows all things, whether actual or merely possible. He knows things immediately and spontaneously. He knows the thoughts of man better than man knows himself. “Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure:” (Isaiah 46:10)

“Great is our Lord, and of great power: his understanding is infinite.” (Psalm 147:5)

“Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do.” (Hebrews 4:13)

“O Lord, thou hast searched me, and known me. Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O Lord, thou knowest it altogether.” (Psalm 139:1-4)

Omnicient-Omnipotent-Omnipresent....

G. Omnipresent – God is everywhere, present in the universe. “Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.” (Psalm 139:7-10)

“Am I a God at hand, saith the Lord, and not a God afar off? Can any hide himself in secret places that I shall not see him? saith the Lord. Do not I fill heaven and earth? saith the Lord.” (Jeremiah 23:23-24)

H. Omnipotent – God is all powerful. He is able to do any thing He desires. “Then Job answered the Lord, and said, I know that thou canst do every thing, and that no thought can be withholden from thee.” (Job 42:1-2)

“Ah Lord God! behold, thou hast made the heaven and the earth by thy great power and stretched out arm, and there is nothing too hard for thee:” (Jeremiah 32:17)

“But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.” (Matthew 19:26)

“And I heard as it were the voice of a great multitude, and as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of mighty thunderings, saying, Alleluia: for the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.” (Revelation 19:6)

He is called the Almighty God: “And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the Lord appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect.” (Genesis 17:1)

He is also called the Lord God Almighty: “And the four beasts had each of them six wings about him; and they were full of eyes within: and they rest not day and night, saying, Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, which was, and is, and is to come.” (Revelation 4:8)

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2013 in Eschatology

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Theology – The Doctrine of God Part-2

  1. granonine

    January 14, 2013 at 10:39 am

    Anna, I found your blog via The Mustard Seed Budget. It looks as if you and I share a common bond–the study of God’s Word. It’s always a great thing to find a kindred spirit out there. I like the thoroughness of your blog.

     
    • Anna

      January 14, 2013 at 12:18 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and for the kind words. Yes, it is wonderful to connect with kindred spirits. Stop by any time. God Bless You.

       
  2. papapound

    January 13, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    Thanks for linking Good News Now. God’s blessing on you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

