RSS

Seeking God’s Will

14 Feb

When I was a babe in Christ I did not understand just how diligently we must seek God’s will in all things. When I look back at the many times I plunged ahead, making choices on my own and therefore facing unnecessary consequences, how foolish I feel. Now that I am more mature, I know that I must ask for God’s wisdom, especially when I face major decisions such as “Where should I go to church?” “Should I marry this man?” “Which home should we buy?” “Is it time to have a child?” “Should I bring my sick parent home to live with us?” These major decisions may have grave consequences if we do not search and obey God’s will.

How do we seek God’s will? The first thing that comes to mind is prayer, but finding God’s will does not happen by praying only. We must also commit to knowing His Word. The Bible teaches us that confirming God’s will is the result of shaping our thinking and behavior to God’s Word over the course of our lifetime. As we saved women of God read our Bible each and every day, our minds are renewed to a Godly way of thinking about life. Worldly thoughts are replaced by Godly thoughts that conform to God’s ways. There are no shortcuts, and the process happens over time. We are never fully reformed to God’s ways until we leave this world to be with Him. I have always said, “The day I stop learning from God and His Word, that’s the day I shall go Home.”

Those of us who keep a continual fellowship with our Lord through His Word are better equipped to make decisions that are based on God’s way of thinking. Finding and understanding God’s will in our lives is much easier to accomplish if we genuinely press on in His Word and constant prayer. “Pray without ceasing.” 1 Thessalonians 5:17

Ephesians 5:15-18 “See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, Redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Wherefore be ye not unwise, but understanding what the will of the Lord is. And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit;”

Mary Magdalene, in a dramatic 19th-century pop...

English: Title page of The Holy Bible, King Ja...

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2013 in Godly Women

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
