RSS

True Meekness

05 Jun

I experienced some conviction during my time with the LORD this morning, which focused on the trait of meekness. I am a humble person at heart, for the most part, well-sometimes… but true meekness is not one of my strong points. Thus, God is still working on me in this area. With one of my gifts being prophecy (laced with mercy), it is very difficult for me to tolerate injustice of any kind. I very much need God’s guiding hand to help me with this in that it would do me good to realize more quickly that He is in control, and He it is that enacts justice, in His time, and according to His plan. I have had a tendency to try and take these matters into my own hands when I have not seen them being ‘made right’ in my time; much to my own chagrin.

I decided to get my Strong’s out and look up the word meekness as found in Titus 3:2 “To speak evil of no man, to be no brawlers, but gentle, shewing all meekness unto all men.”

Imagine the needed correction I experienced in my spirit as I read the following:

Greek word praios (prah’ -os) – gentle, i.e. humble:–meek

“Praos is mildness of disposition, gentleness of spirit, meekness. Meekness toward God is that disposition of spirit in which we accept His dealings with us as good, and therefore without disputing or resisting. The meek man truly acknowledges himself as a sinner among sinners and this knowledge of his own sin teaches him to meekly endure the provocations of others and not to withdraw from the burdens their sins may impose on him.”

*Galatians 6:1 “Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted.”

*2 Timothy 2:25 “In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth;”

“The meek are those wholly relying on God, rather than their own strength to defend them against injustice. Thus, meekness toward evil people means knowing that God is permitting the injuries they inflict, that He is using them to purify His elect, and that He will deliver His elect in His time.”

*Isaiah 41:17 “When the poor and needy seek water, and there is none, and their tongue faileth for thirst, I the LORD will hear them, I the God of Israel will not forsake them.”

*Luke 18:1-8 ” And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint; Saying, There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man: And there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary. And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, Though I fear not God, nor regard man; Yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me. And the Lord said, Hear what the unjust judge saith. And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them? I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?”

“Gentleness or meekness is the opposite to self-assertiveness and self-interest. It stems from trust in God’s goodness and control over the situation. The gentle person is not occupied with self at all. This is the work of the Holy Spirit, not of the human will.”

*Galatians 5:23 “Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.”

My response to this teaching today is to continually ask for the Spirit’s help to strengthen me in this area of trusting God in ALL things. I actually feel sad for those who commit injustices on those of us who belong to Yahweh. He will provide His justice. It also makes me want to take more care not to be hurtful to others as well.

“Thank you, my LORD, for your gentle teaching, Amen.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2014 in Godly Women

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “True Meekness

  1. granonine

    July 10, 2014 at 5:43 am

    Something I have to give to God daily, Anna. I’m afraid “meek” isn’t passed down through my family gene pool! Thank God, His Holy Spirit can overcome DNA🙂

     
    • Anna

      July 10, 2014 at 8:13 am

      I hear ya girl. Same here!😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
