RSS

God’s Infallible Word

12 Jan

God’s word is indeed infallible! I believe He has protected it over the centuries as our Guidebook. Sometimes, while under conviction, we can look at God’s Word as a rules and regulations book, but it is so very much more than that. The rules and regulations are for our own protection because He loves us so. The Bible has much more to offer.

This mornings devotion was very interesting, so much so that I had to share. The author of today’s devotion in our Baptist Bread, Dr. Paul Heaton, found this quote in Compton’s Encyclopedia: “One of the supreme achievements of the English Renaissance came at its close, in the King James Bible…It is rightly regarded as the most influential book in the history of the English civilization…the King James Version combined homely, dignified phrases into a style of great richness and loveliness. It has been a model of writing for generations of English-speaking people.”

I must say I whole-heartedly agree. I love the KJV of God’s Word and I never care to use any of the modern versions which leave out so many words and verses, and change complete wording of God’s Word, which helps people stay comfortable in their sin. I never really got into poetry, but I love the poetic flow of the Psalms and how they are so easy to understand. I balk when I hear people say they use other versions, such as NIV, because it helps them understand it better. Excuse me, but the KJV was written at a 7th grade reading level. Some well-intentioned people say they use other versions to help people get the gist of what the Bible says. What? The gist is just some man’s interpretation. I see no need to veer from the uncorrupted version of God’s Word, as His Spirit leads us in understanding and sharing with others. He tells us what to say and how to say it if we listen to Him. If we have trouble with knowing meanings of words, the Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance tells meanings of the original Hebrew and Greek words used in the Bible.

(AS A SIDE NOTE: to make yourselves more educated on the truth of those ‘other’ versions, you may check it out for yourselves here: http://www.av1611.org/tracts.html#BibleVersions or here:  http://av1611.com/kjbp/charts.html.)To those who corrupt God’s Word, I would remind of this: Revelation 22:18-19 “For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book: And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.”

Dr. Heaton listed where some of our sayings (some might call them cliche’s) originated in God’s Word. He found them in Compton’s Encyclopedia. I wish to share them, with the Scriptures. Enjoy!

Job 19:20 “My bone cleaveth to my skin and to my flesh, and I am escaped with the skin of my teeth.” So we say, “Saved by the skin of my teeth.”

Job 36:27 “For he maketh small the drops of water: they pour down rain according to the vapour thereof:” So we say, “It poured down rain.”

Psalm 37:36 “Yet he passed away, and, lo, he was not: yea, I sought him, but he could not be found.” So we say, “Passed away” (describing the death of someone).

Psalm 50:22 “Now consider this, ye that forget God, lest I tear you in pieces, and there be none to deliver.” Where the bully gets, “I will tear you in pieces.”

Psalm 78:25 “Man did eat angels’ food: he sent them meat to the full.” Ever hear of “angel food cake?”

Proverbs 13:12 “Hope deferred maketh the heart sick: but when the desire cometh, it is a tree of life.” The lonely say, “I am heart sick.”

Proverbs 17:22 “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.” So we say, “Laughter is the best medicine.” (I especially love this verse.)

Ecclesiastes 10:20 “Curse not the king, no not in thy thought; and curse not the rich in thy bedchamber: for a bird of the air shall carry the voice, and that which hath wings shall tell the matter.” So we say, “A little birdie told me.”

Psalm 138:2 “I will worship toward thy holy temple, and praise thy name for thy lovingkindness and for thy truth: for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 12, 2015 in Truth and Common Sense

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
