RSS

The Last Week in the Life of Jesus – Day 7 – Saturday

04 Apr

As it was with the 4th day, day 7 must also have been quiet for Jesus. So, I decided to use this day to share why Easter holds an extra special place in my heart.

Romans 5:8 “But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”

It was Easter Sunday of 1965, I was nearly 10 years old. Our family went to visit our grandmother’s church in Glenwood Springs. I will never forget the gripping sadness that overwhelmed my soul while the teacher taught about the 3 hours of darkness while Jesus was covered with the sins of the world. I understood that my sin was included in that most horrible moment for Jesus when, for the first and only time ever, He was separated from His Holy Father. I also understood that I had 2 choices, either to accept Jesus and live in Heaven with Him forever, or ignore Jesus and go to hell forever.

I was consumed with a sense of urgency when I told the teacher that I needed to “ask Jesus to forgive me and come into my heart.” I remember as if it were yesterday how it looked dark outside the one small window high up on the wall of the Sunday school room when the teacher led me to a small desk at the back of the room. I sat down in the desk and the teacher knelt next to me and held my hand. I told Jesus that I was really sorry for my ugly sins and that He had to die on the cross and be away from His Father.

While my eyes were still closed, I could see the room getting brighter through the window, and when I opened my eyes, the clouds were gone and it was bright and sunny! Such wonderful joy and love I felt, and I wanted to tell everyone!

As a child, I looked at those few very special moments as God doing something extra special just for me. I just knew for sure that He made the darkness outside fade away into bright sunshine just for me because that was what happened as I prayed. I guess that is a good way to describe how His saving power and grace took me from the darkness of my sin to a Light-filled life in Christ.

Romans 10:9-10 “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2015 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
