RSS

“I Will Be With Him In Trouble”

10 Aug

Psalm 91:14-16 “Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name. He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him. With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.” (Part III of D.L. Moody’s Sermon “The Ninety-First Psalm”) (Notes in italics are my own thoughts that came to my heart as I went through this sermon.)

III. “I Will Be With Him In Trouble” Every heart knows its own bitterness. If the troubles that are represented by this audience could be written in a volume, it would take the biggest volume you have ever seen. We are apt to think that young people do not have any trouble, but if they haven’t, there is one thing they can make sure of, that they are going to have trouble later. “Man is born unto trouble, as the sparks fly upward.” Trouble is coming. No one is exempt. God has had one Son without sin, but He has never had one without sorrow. JESUS CHRIST, Our Master, suffered as few men ever suffered, and He died very young. Ours is a path of sorrow and suffering and it is so sweet to hear the Master say: “I will be with him in trouble.” Do not let anyone think for a moment that you can get on without Him. You may say now, “I can get on; I am in good health and prosperity,” but the hour is coming when you will need Him. (I am reminded as I type this of my teen years and the wrong choices I made. Though I have faced the consequences of those actions, looking back I can see God’s hand in protecting me from worse happening to me. Before I ever understood about what abuse and molestation does to young children and how it affects their choices as they grow, God knew, and as my Heavenly Father, I know without any shadow of doubt that He was merciful with me and that He was with me and protected me through those times. Things could have been so much worse for me with the bad decisions I was making. Anna)

Many a Christian could bear witness to this point, that He has been with them in trouble, that in some dark hour when the billows seemed to be rolling up around them, they cried to Him, and He heard their cry, He answered their prayer, and He brought peace. There was joy in their sorrow, there was a star that lit up even the darkest night. (After I was first married and became pregnant with my first child at age 18, I lost the baby. I was devastated and felt totally alone after my husband left me at the hospital so he could sleep some before having to get up for work the next day. My mother and family lived far away, I was alone. I still see the picture in my mind of the hospital room. I lay crying, “Why, Lord? My heart hurts so much, please help me.” Such a loss I felt. Then I opened my eyes and noticed the picture of Jesus, with His arms reaching out to me, hanging on the wall past the foot of my bed and instantly “The 23rd Psalm” came to my mind. I had not thought about it for many years, but had learned it at Vacation Bible School when I was 6 or 7 years old. I am not saying that I was instantly delivered of those painful feelings. Anyone who has lost a child knows that it takes time to overcome those intense feelings of sorrow. I went through the grieving process as we all do, over time. The loss will always be with me, but, when I needed a loving arm around me to comfort me and let me know that I was not alone, Jesus was there. With the passing of time, I have come to look forward to the hope I have of seeing that child in Heaven one day. Anna)

I remember being on that vessel, the Spree, when the shaft broke and a hole was knocked in her bottom out in mid-ocean, and the stem sank thirty feet. All my family but one was in Northfield, and I was making my way home, leaving friends in Europe. There I was in mid-ocean, pulled up, as it were, to look into my own grave for about forty-eight hours, without one ray of hope, humanly speaking. For forty-eight hours the burden was intense. My heart was like a lump of lead. The accident happened Saturday morning. Sunday afternoon we had a prayer-meeting, and after prayer I read this ninety-first Psalm. If it had been let down from Heaven, it could not have given more comfort. I went into my state room, and I fell on my knees, and I cried to the Lord: “It is a time of trouble; help me.” And God took the burden. It rolled off, and I fell asleep. I never slept sounder than I did that night, and all the rest of the time. If a storm had burst on us any time during the week, we would have gone down, but God was with us in the time of trouble, and the burden was lifted.

A great many people seem to embalm their troubles. I always feel like running away when I see them coming. They bring out their old mummy, and tell you in a sass voice: “You do not know the troubles I have!” My friends, if you go to the Lord with your troubles, He will take them away. Would you not rather be with the Lord and get rid of your troubles, than be with your troubles and without God? Let trouble come if it will drive us nearer to God. It is a great thing to have a place of resort in the time of trouble. How people get on without the God of the Bible is a mystery to me. If I did not have such a refuge, a place to go and pour out my heart to God in such times, I do not know what I would do. It seems as if I would go out of my mind. But to think, when the heart is burdened, we can go and pour it into His ear, and then have the answer come back, “I will be with him,” there is comfort in that!

I thank God for the old Book! I thank God for this old promise. It is as sweet and fresh today as it has ever been. Thank God, none of those promises are out of date, or grown stale! They are as fresh and vigorous and young and sweet as ever.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 10, 2015 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
