RSS

“I Will Honor Him”

12 Aug

Psalm 91:14-16 “Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name. He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him. With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.” (Part IV of D.L. Moody’s Sermon “The Ninety-First Psalm”)

IV. “I Will Honor Him” “I will… honor him.” God’s honor is something worth seeking. Man’s honor does not amount to much. Suppose Moses had stopped down there in Egypt. He would have been loaded down with Egyptian titles. But they would never have reached us. Suppose he had been Chief Marshal of the whole Egyptian army, “General” Moses, “Commander” Moses; suppose he had reached the throne and become one of those Pharaohs, and his mummy had come down to our day.

What is that compared with the honor God put upon him? “I will… honor him.” Did not God put honor on Moses? How his name shines on the page of history!

The honor of this world does not last; it is transient; it is passing away, and I do not believe any man or woman is fit for God’s service that is looking for worldly preferment, worldly honors and worldly fame. Let us get it under our feet, let us rise above it, and seek the honor that comes down from above.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2015 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
