RSS

“I Will Set Him On High”

18 Aug

Psalm 91:14-16 “Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name. He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him. With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.” (Part VI of D.L. Moody’s Sermon “The Ninety-First Psalm”)

VI. “I Will Set Him On High” God is able to do it. Up above the angels, up above the archangels, up above the cherubims and seraphims, on the throne with His own Son. (This is where satan began his rebellion against God. When God said the angels were to be helpers to mankind, he thought too highly of himself to be below God’s sons and daughters. Of course, we know that that thinking led him to want to be like God, and sit on God’s throne. For that he will spend eternity in Hell. Anna)

We are called to be sons and daughters of the eternal God. Do you know, the Prince of Wales cannot sit on the throne with Queen Victoria; they would not allow it. When the heir to the throne of Russia died, they have appointed another to take his place, but he could not sit on the throne with his brother, the Czar. But it is not so yonder. Christ has gone up and taken His seat at the right hand of the Father, and every son and daughter of God is to be lifted up onto the throne.

My dear friends, think of the promise. Isn’t it rich, isn’t it sweet? “I will set him on high.”

So that when our friends pass on to be on high and to be forever with Him, they are far better off.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2015 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
