RSS

Why we Need to Know God’s Promises

13 Feb

Our Pastor Brockman has been teaching on God’s promises in His Word. How can we call upon Him and claim His great promises if we do not know them? Such a loving God to fill His Word with so very many precious promises to help get us through this secular world of strife as we await His return!

Today we will look at Philippians 4:10-19 “But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity. Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Notwithstanding ye have well done, that ye did communicate with my affliction. Now ye Philippians know also, that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia, no church communicated with me as concerning giving and receiving, but ye only. For even in Thessalonica ye sent once and again unto my necessity. Not because I desire a gift: but I desire fruit that may abound to your account. But I have all, and abound: I am full, having received of Epaphroditus the things which were sent from you, an odour of a sweet smell, a sacrifice acceptable, wellpleasing to God. But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

Paul was a great role model for Christian courtesy, and tact. He expressed deep gratitude, verses 10 and 14 “But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity. 14. Notwithstanding ye have well done, that ye did communicate with my affliction.” Yet he also used this as an opportunity to teach the Philippians more about the guardianship and provision of God and the expectancy and contentment of the believer who would wait on the Lord, verses 11 and 14 “11. Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” Believers are to be “content,” not with circumstances, but in circumstances. This Godly contentment does not forbid drive, ambition,or righting wrongs in life – I Timothy 6 (Contentment). Such faith was not his at birth, but was painfully and tediously developed by walking with the Lord so that he learned to be content with anything, to live above things, to be unaffected by circumstances. My Lord continues to teach me this concept still today. Sometimes I catch myself in the circumstances, whereas I did not used to at all.

My God Shall Supply all Your Need: This needs to be seen in its context. Such amazing generosity does not allow for foolish and wasteful spending on our part, while God is considered responsible for necessities. Instead, because the Philippians had been so generous in their Christian giving, God would meet their needs as well. Philippians 4:8-10 “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you. But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity.” II Corinthians 9:7,8 “Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver. And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work:” I have found it to be ever so true that “we cannot out-give God.” More importantly, all that we are blessed with belongs to and came from God in the first place.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2016 in God's Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
