RSS

In the Hollow of Thy Hand

06 Jul

Many who know me know that my greatest gift from the Lord is His calling me to be the prayer warrior that I am today. To me it is a great honor and privilege to spend time in conversation with my Master, lifting others up to Him. That He would even consider a sinner such as I to come into His presence is a mystery to me, but while I am there those thoughts vanish as I attempt to lay my worries and concerns at His feet. I have learned from the storms God has allowed in my own life that the prayers of others have been a reason for the peace and comfort I have experienced in the hollow of His hands.

In that quiet, prayerful time this morning several dear sisters in the Lord came to mind, the first being my Pastor’s wife. She was paralyzed in a bad car accident 3 years ago yesterday. I can’t help but think about how hard it must be for her since this accident. Just a young woman in her 30’s with 4 young children. My heart aches for her at the thought of how very drastically every area of her life has changed since that horrible accident. Yet, she is a wonderful example to others as she gets up every day and continues on in her work for the Lord. I look at myself and wonder if I would be able to stay so strong in the Lord if I were faced with the trials she has faced and will face to the end of each day. I suppose it is true what they say that “We don’t really know how we would react in a certain situation unless it actually happened to us.” I believe that God places an empathy for others on our hearts when these things happen. I continue to pray and ask my Lord to heal this precious sister and let her walk again, but I can’t help but wonder how would I become if I were in her shoes. Would I keep on keeping on like she does, staying in church and serving our Lord when many of us would give in and say, “No, I can’t today. I just don’t feel like it.” Perhaps she knows that we truly do gain strength in times of trial when we choose to stay close to our brothers and sisters in Christ. We so need the Godly support that they have to offer. I wonder if she knows the huge difference her example has made to so many.

Another sweet sister who was laid on my heart this morning recently had her 30-year-old son go to be with Jesus through a tragic accident. I cannot even imagine what she faces each day as she awakes and realizes that she will not be hearing from her sweet boy, or by chance run into him in her travels around town. Yes, she must take some comfort in knowing that she will join him with Jesus one day, but until then, there is a great storm to get through here in our world. And again, here is a Godly woman who continues on sharing Jesus as she visits with others who have visited our church, encouraging them to know God and live for Him. I have a young son, and as I have tried to put myself in her shoes, the hurt in my heart just thinking about it is too great for me to stay there for any amount of time. I have a sweet momma and daddy in Heaven now, and of course several other family members, and two best friends over the past several years who have also went to be with Jesus. The thought that Heaven is indeed looking sweeter to me each year that God gives me on this earth comes to my mind more and more. So, I know that pain of losing a loved one, but there is something so very different about the thought of having to say good bye to a child I have raised and has been a part of my life for many years, unimaginable. That is just not the natural order of things. Oh well, I digress, as usual in these things, but my point is that I feel so very blessed to call this lady my dear friend. What a great example she is to me as I watch her stay close with God as she goes through this storm.

What a great example and encouragement these women and others like them are to so many of us, as we watch them trusting in God’s healing, in His time, as they lean on Him “Til the Storm Passes By.” They know that The Master is Nigh! None of us can get through this life’s storms without Him.

The song “Til the Storm Passes By” was the song for today in my morning devotion. How very fitting for each and every one of us.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 6, 2016 in Godly Women

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
