RSS

Best Friends?

03 Oct

A part of our Pastor’s message this past Sunday touched on keeping our eyes on Jesus and the idea of best friends as one example. Now, we all like to think we have that one Bestie, don’t we. Especially us ladies. It makes us feel special, but if we are not careful, we can become offended at the silliest things, for example, say another lady seems to be getting a little too close to “our Bestie,” and we think, “Oh no you don’t! That’s my Bestie. Hands off!” and it shows in our actions (don’t our thoughts always lead to some action?) This is just a sign that we need to take heed to the fact that we have taken our eyes off of our Lord and our focus has shifted to our selfish flesh.

I have been blessed with 2 of the Best Friends I could have hoped for over my lifetime and they are both with Jesus now. As adults we did not feel the need to be in constant contact, or that we could only do things with each other. That is more for middle and high school. And, I have learned that spending too much time with one person can lead to gossip and back biting. I have not had an easy time making best friends in my life because it just happened too many times that girls I thought were my friends ended up stabbing me in the back, so why bother? But that is how it can go with friends “in the world.”

My thought today is friends in God’s church. The surest way to cause strife in God’s church is to allow cliques or groups to form. I have experienced and witnessed much harm to the brethren, and offense to visitors because of that.

So, I had this thought. What do the words brethren or brothers and sisters in Christ mean? I would like to think that it means family, joined as one in unity. So aren’t we all really best friends with each other in Christ? We really must not esteem any higher than another.

God led me to some Scripture about what He expects as unity and love among the brethren in His church:

Psalm 133

1 Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity!

2 It is like the precious ointment upon the head, that ran down upon the beard, even Aaron’s beard: that went down to the skirts of his garments;

3 As the dew of Hermon, and as the dew that descended upon the mountains of Zion: for there the LORD commanded the blessing, even life for evermore.

Philippians 2:1-3

1 If there be therefore any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any bowels and mercies,

2 Fulfil ye my joy, that ye be likeminded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind.

3 Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.

1 Corinthians 1:9, 10

9 God is faithful, by whom ye were called unto the fellowship of his Son Jesus Christ our Lord.

10 Now I beseech you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that ye all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you; but that ye be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 3, 2016 in Godly Women

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
